Friday, May 14, 2010

Who’s on NJDEP’s Science Advisory Board?

earth inside lab flask

Sixteen science experts from the academic and business communities were named yesterday by Commissioner Bob Martin to the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection’s new Science Advisory Board.
They will  provide  independent guidance to the department on key environmental issues.
Martin said that the 16, all of who have volunteered their services, are “some of the top minds in the state, experts who can take a thorough look at specific environmental issues and offer solid advice to guide me and the department.’’

Four new standing scientific committees
Several dozen other persons were named today to four new standing scientific committees that will supplement the work of the Science Advisory Board in the areas of : Ecological Processes, Public Health, Water Quality and Quantity, and Climate and Atmospheric Sciences.
A high percentage of those selected come from the academic community. Included are Rutgers University, Seton Hall University, Clarkson University, Drexel University, Kean University, Montclair State University, Monmouth University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Rider University, Stevens Institute of Technology, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey and William Paterson University.

Advisors to complement DEP scientists
A DEP news release says the advisory board will complement work already being done by DEP scientists and will provide an “independent voice and peer review on scientific and technical matters.” Issues related to global warming, clean air and water, contaminated soils, wind power and preservation of natural areas, will be among the many topics they will tackle.
A total of 109 applications for the Science Advisory Board were received by an Aug. 7, 2009 deadline. From that group, all of the persons appointed to the board have advanced degrees and extensive training, expertise and experience in scientific and technological fields related to all aspects of environmental protection, according to the department.

Rutgers’ Judith Weis to chair the Advisory Board
Martin named Judith Weis of Rutgers University, Newark, as chairwoman of the board. A professor of biological sciences, with a Ph.D. and Master’s Degree in biology, her research focuses on estuarine ecology and ecotoxicology.

The other members of the advisory board, including their field of expertise and current affiliations, include:
  • Clinton Andrews, Ph.D., P.E.: Rutgers University, urban planning.
  • Raymond Ferrara, Ph.D.: Omni Environmental, environmental engineering.
  • John Gannon, Ph.D.: DuPont, microbiology.
  • Paul Lioy, Ph.D.: Environmental and Health Sciences Institute, environmental science.
  • Robert Laumbach, M.P.H., M.D.: UMDNJ, medical doctor.
  • Michael Gallo, Ph.D.: UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, toxicology, pathology.
  • Nancy Rothman, Ph.D.: New Environmental Horizons Inc., physical organic chemistry.
  • Peter Lederman, Ph.D. and P.E.: Peter & Associates, chemical engineering and P.E.
  • Robert J. Lippencott, Ph.D.: TRC Environmental, environmental science.
  • Jonathan Husch, Ph.D.: Rider University, geology.
  • John Dyksen, M.S., P.E.: United Water Co., environmental engineering.
  • Mark G. Robson, Ph.D., M.P.H.: Rutgers University, environmental and occupational health/agricultural and plant science.
  • David A. Vaccari, Ph.D., P.E.: Stevens Institute of Technology, environmental science, chemical engineering.
  • Emile D. DeVito, Ph.D.: New Jersey Conservation Foundation, conservation biology.
  • Anthony J. Broccoli, Ph.D., M.S.: Rutgers University, atmospheric and environmental science. 
  Like this? You’ll love our daily newsletter 
- Try it free for 30 days!

Our most recent posts:
NJDEP Commissioner briefs state lawmakers
Don't worry, shale gas will rock your world

Information on BP's oil disaster in the Gulf

In the gulf oil spill  disaster, an opportunity?

Subscribe here to view all our YouTube videos

Repost this article